Comfort Zones – when did you last step outside?

 

Setting Personal Goals is one thing, creating a plan to achieve those goals is a completely different! What goals (short term or long term) have you set for yourself recently? What action plan do you have in place to accomplish those goals?

Recently, I completed a triathlon – one gigantic step outside my Comfort Zone. The physical & mental challenge that this presents is something I have aimed to conquer for sometime. As its been 11 years since my last triathlon, the idea of training whilst balancing work and family commitments was not appealing at all. My always encouraging husband, sent me off at 6am with a flurry of good luck wishes (he was committed to out kids soccer teams so couldn’t be there for this event). Arriving with a gut full of nerves, I knew no one, reluctant to take off the jumper (A – it was cold & wet plus B – I braved wearing the body suit).

First moment of ‘magic’ – the self belief and confidence that no matter how jiggly, roly, squishy and curvy my body is, it is me! It has served me well and I should be proud of it. Seeing so many other women embrace their bodies and exuding confidence gave me the lift I needed.

The next ‘magic’ moment – lining up at the start line, the adrenalin starts to pump and the thrill of diving into the water for the swim leg. The freedom, the excitement, the rush that I can NOT give up now. The boost that I was able to overtake others too (considering I haven’t swam in this context for nearly 2 years).

Another moment of magic, the transition between swim and bike. Found it easily despite the pouring rain! those small ‘wins’ in each section was built on the I CAN mantra on repeat in my mind.

Next magic moment can between bike and run, as I was returning my bike, I noticed a lady in pink, facebook ‘famous’, entrepreneur and all round inspirational woman. I took the chance to say hi, chatted for a bit before she continued her team event, and I my solo event. If I hadn’t turned up, had the courage to speak up, I would never have been able to meet someone so influential.

During the last stage – the dreaded run – I knew I had to keep going, think Dory ‘just keep swimming’ – my mind was ‘just keep moving’. And I did, with so many strangers encouraging others, it was finished!

What was the real magic of this experience?

I now know I CAN do hard things, on my own, in challenging circumstances.

I have used this inner strength in both work and personal situations since and will continue to remind myself, a simple mantra –

I CAN.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *